Index – Little Fire – 5.10 – 7/19/2015

It was about 90-95 degrees at Index that weekend but Aaron and I decided to battle the heat. The plan was to crag a few route at Private Idaho, then find the Duck Wall and maybe, maybe, get on “Little Fire”.

We made a wrong turn on the trail and ended up at the Duck Wall. I am such a lazy hiker that to me it didn’t make sense to go back to Private Idaho to warm up.

The climb starts with a 5.4 ramp, up to the base of a corner. It felt more like a 5.7 to me when I was following Aaron.

Then it continues on a 5.10 something left facing corner, up a roof, then lie back to a wider crack. This pitch was incredibly fun. Unfortunately my rope got stuck in the roof, as I did not sling the cam before the roof. Another lesson learned here!

The heat was unbearable so we gave up at the top of the second pitch. We still have to return for the entire thing

Leave a Reply

